The Foundation Stage Curriculum

“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.” EYFS statutory framework

In the Foundation Stage at St. Julian’s children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS). This “sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life”.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.
All the fun activities that you do with your child at home are important in supporting their learning and development, and have a really long lasting effect on your child’s learning as they progress through school.

Foundation staff use the “Development Matters” guidance material to support the implementation of the EYFS focusing on the distinct needs of children from birth to the end of the Reception year in Primary school.

Growth is rapid and differs from child to child; a significantly high proportion of learning takes place during this developmental period. It is therefore a time when children need particularly high quality care and learning experiences.
The Foundation Stage is important in its own right, and in preparing children for later schooling. Development Matters documentation explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development and the Early Learning Goals set out what is expected of most children by the end of the Foundation Stage.

The EYFS sets out four guiding principles which underpin all guidance;
• A Unique Child
• Positive Relationships
• Enabling Environment
• Learning and Development.

Development Matters documentation shows how these themes, and guiding principles work together for children in the EYFS.

Your child will be learning skills, building upon previous knowledge, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. These are defined as Prime and Specific areas of learning.

The three prime areas are:

· Communication and language
· Physical development
· Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

· Literacy
· Mathematics
· Understanding the world
· Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. It is designed to be flexible so that staff can follow your child's interests.

The curriculum is delivered in English but all the children are supported by bilingual staff in English and Portuguese. Children are formatively assessed throughout the Foundation Stage, and supported at all stages of their development.


ur purpose is to create a happy, secure and stimulating learning environment within which all members of our community can achieve their full potential and develop a commitment to lifelong learning.

Our purpose is to create a happy, secure and stimulating learning environment within which all members of our community can achieve their full potential and develop a commitment to lifelong learning.